Pesticide Applicator Information

Private Pesticide Applicator License

A private pesticide applicator is someone who uses or supervises the use of restricted-use or state-limited-use pesticides or regulated herbicides to produce an agricultural commodity on: Personally owned property; Rented property; Property owned by his or her employer; Property under his or her general control; or The property of another person if applied without compensation, other than the trading of personal services between producers of agricultural commodities.

How to obtain a private applicator license

You can obtain your Private Pesticide Applicator training session from your County Extension Agent, or you can obtain the training online for $75 by registering here.

Private Pesticide Applicator Training with the Wharton County Extension Office
The Wharton County Extension Office offers private applicator training on an as needed basis. To schedule a private applicator training with our office, contact Agent Corrie Bowen at 979-532-3310. Charge for the training and study guides will be $60.00 payable at the time of training.

All testing for private applicators is done through PSI.  Please read the attached documents before scheduling your training.
PSI Convenience Testing
PSI Exam Instructions
PSI Exams Online

Private Applicator Holders

Recertification Requirements: Licensed private applicators are required to recertify every five years by obtaining 15 continuing education credits, including two (2) credits in Laws and Regulations and two (2) credits in Integrated Pest Management (IPM), prior to expiration of the license. You must maintain the CEU certificates on file for one year following renewal of your license, in case of an audit by TDA.

Wharton County Extension Office offers numerous recertification courses every year.  Check the calendar of events for all CEU programs or contact the Wharton County Extension Office at 979-532-3310.

Pesticide Commercial/Noncommercial Applicator License
Pesticide Commercial/Noncommercial Applicator License
Testing for Commercial/Noncommercial Pesticide Applicators

Change of Information

The Texas Administrative Code (rule 7.20) requires all licensees to notify the department within 30 days of any change in the information provided as part of the application for a license. Licensees must submit a change of information form that is signed. You can scan the signed form and email it to license.inquiry@TexasAgriculture.gov, faxed to 800-909-8534 or mail it to Texas Department of Agriculture, Licensing Division, P.O. Box 12847, Austin, TX 78711. This will ensure you receive licensing information from TDA.

 

Additional Pesticide Applicator publications

Frequently Asked Questions

Private Applicator Study Guide Order Form

Private Applicator Recordkeeping Requirements

Pesticide Applicator Recorkeeping Form

Private Pesticide Applicator Recordkeeping Requirements

The Pesticide Label

Texas Department of Agriculture Agricultural Applicators

Comments are closed.